Spiced Greens and Lentils

I’ve spent the past few days in a fog.  I thought I had escaped the curse, but faithfully and predictably I got sick in June.

IMG_1321 color correct

This is the third year it’s happened, and I think they say that two is a coincidence, but three is a pattern.  There were little signs early in the month that I tried not to notice, but I think it’s time to accept the fact that when spring turns to summer, there is something here that stokes my allergies, weakens my immune system, and ultimately sends me to bed.

So I spent today reading by an open window, but was not truly able to enjoy the weather.  I stumbled to the kitchen to make dinner, but everything else on my to-do list remains unchecked.  Staying inside and inactive frustrates me; lacking the energy to be productive frustrates me.  But I am trying to feel empowered with my new knowledge.  I am trying to reassure myself that now I know the pattern, and next year, with immune-boosting herbs and foods, I can break it.

IMG_1327 color correct IMG_1326 color correct

As an apology for making you wait longer to hear about seaweed, I offer you this recipe: simple, hearty, and hale, with garlic and spices to cut through even the worst head fog.  Here’s hoping that after a few bowls of this, I’m back on my feet again in the morning.

Spiced Greens and Lentils
½ C red lentils
1 onion, sliced
Olive oil or ghee
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 t coriander, ground
½ t salt
¼ t chili flakes
4 C leafy greens, chopped (chard, spinach, beet greens)

Cook the lentils in 1 ½ C water until soft, and set aside.

Saute the onion and garlic in olive oil or ghee until tender.  Add the spices and salt and mix well.  Add the greens and stir in thoroughly.  When wilted, add the cooked lentils and ½ C of water.  Bring to a simmer, and cook another 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Makes 2 large servings, or 3-4 side servings.

IMG_1329 color correct

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

