Salt and Chili Crinkle Cookies

Sometimes a grown-up sort of party calls for a grown-up sort of cookie.

IMG_1054 color correct

A and I were invited yesterday to a cocktail potluck–the idea being that guests bring their favorite liquor, mixer, or pre-mixed cocktails instead of a food dish.  In my completely unbiased opinion, A is a master bartender.  His liquor cabinet has been known to make grown men swoon at his feet.  He was planning to bring a quart of classic daiquiris; with full-flavored rum and fresh-squeezed lime juice, it’s a cocktail that creates summer wherever it goes.

I’ve never been very good at mixing drinks.  I didn’t know much about cocktails before I met A, and now the most I can say is that I know which liquors and flavors I like.  Sure, I can follow a cocktail recipe, but I’ll forget the proportions immediately, which is never very helpful when trying to impress your friends.  Luckily for me, A is always happy to whip up a cocktail for me or any visiting dignitaries who might be around.

IMG_1059

I didn’t even bother trying to think of a cocktail recipe to bring to this potluck.  I decided instead to focus on what I know I’m good at: feeding people.  Since it was a birthday party, I wanted to bring a sweet treat; but I also wanted something that would do well followed by a strong sip of something, whether it be rum or whiskey or gin.  Reflecting on classic bar snacks, I knew I wanted salt and spice to be involved; and if there were ever a fan of the modern romance between salt and chocolate, it’s me.  Chocolate and chili get along quite well, so all that remained was how to put the flavors together.

I didn’t have many ‘extra’ ingredients on hand–no nuts, no chocolate chips, no dried fruit–so I settled on the relatively lean and simple crinkle cookie.  I made them mini-sized, to be eaten in a bite or two in between sips of cocktail, but regular-sized cookies would be just as tasty and slightly less tedious to form if you’re not into the zen of rolling cookies between your palms (which I kind of am).

IMG_1055 color correct

If you just want a hint of spicy rather than a full-blown kick, dial down the cayenne, but keep the ancho where it is.  It adds an earthy bass note to the chocolate.

Salt and Chili Crinkle Cookies
1 2/3 C flour
1/2 C unsweetened cocoa powder
1 T ancho chili powder
1 1/2 t baking powder
3/4 t ground cayenne
1/2 t salt
8 T (1 stick) salted butter, at room temperature
1 1/4 C granulated sugar
2 eggs
1/2 t vanilla
1/2 C powdered sugar
1 t coarse salt (I used Celtic gray)

Preheat oven to 350° and prepare a baking sheet with parchment paper, or lightly grease.

In a medium bowl, mix flour, cocoa, baking powder, ancho, cayenne, and salt.  In a large bowl, beat the butter and granulated sugar until creamy.  Add eggs one at a time, mixing fully in between additions.  Add vanilla and mix well.  Pour flour mixture into the butter mixture and mix well.

On a plate or baking dish, mix powdered sugar and coarse salt.  Roll cookie dough between your hands into balls–teaspoon-sized for mini cookies or tablespoon-sized for regular–and roll each cookie in the powdered sugar/salt mixture.  Place on prepared cookie sheet, 1 inch apart for mini cookies or 2 inches apart for regular.  Bake 8-10 minutes for mini cookies and 10-12 minutes for regular.  Cool 10-15 minutes on cookie sheet, then transfer to wire rack.

Makes 75-80 mini cookies or 25-30 regular cookies.

IMG_1061

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “Salt and Chili Crinkle Cookies

  1. Pingback: Salt and Chili Crinkle Cookies | ebeab

Leave a Reply

